About T Levels

T Levels are new 2-year courses which are taken after GCSEs and are broadly equivalent in size to 3 A Levels. Launched in September 2020, these courses have been developed in collaboration with employers and education providers so that the content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for entry into skilled employment, an apprenticeship or related technical study through further or higher education.

T Levels offer students practical and knowledge-based learning at a school or college and on-the-job experience through an industry placement of at least 315 hours – approximately 45 days.

T Levels will become one of the main choices for students after GCSEs alongside:

  • Apprenticeships for students who wish to learn a specific occupation ‘on the job’
  • A levels for students who wish to continue academic education
  • Other qualifications not served by A levels or T levels, including sport science, performing arts and small qualifications designed to be taken alongside A levels

The Department for Education (DfE) is streamlining and improving the quality of the post-16 level 3 qualifications system. They are strengthening progression pathways, creating clearly defined academic and technical routes with high quality qualifications leading to further study, and/or skilled employment. This will help students to make good choices and see more easily how their study will help them to progress.

Grading and Certification

Students who complete their T Level will get a nationally recognised certificate which will show their overall grade and a breakdown of what they have achieved.

The T Level certificate will include:

  • An overall grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit, distinction or distinction*
  • A separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  • A separate grade for each occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction

It will also confirm that the student has:

  • Completed the industry placement
  • Met any additional mandatory requirements

A student’s overall T Level grade will be worked out from the grades they achieved on the core component and the occupational specialism(s).

Students who do not pass all elements of their T Level will get a T Level statement of achievement which will show the elements they have completed.

If students have attained maths and/or English qualifications at level 2, this will also be referenced on T Level certificates and statements of achievement.

Entry to Higher Education and UCAS Tariff Points

T Levels will provide several progression options for students. These include skilled employment, an apprenticeship and higher education.

To help T Level students progress into higher education, UCAS tariff points will be allocated to T Levels.

UCAS points will only be allocated to the overall T Level grade. Students must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive UCAS points.

UCAS tariff pointsT Level overall gradeA level
168Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism)AAA*
96Pass (C or above on the core)CCC
72Pass (D or E on the core)DDD

This information was taken directly from www.gov.uk.  For more information on T Levels please visit


We currently offer the following T-Level qualifications:

Education and ChildCare