Health and Social Care

“A modern health care system has to be completely focused on the needs of its users.”

Patricia Hewitt

This course enables students to explore a range of areas within the health services. It will provide knowledge, understanding and skills required to progress onto future employment in the health and care sectors.

This qualification will provide opportunities in careers including Home & Residential Care, some National Health Careers including Health Care Assistant, Family support Worker. After further study this qualification will provide opportunities in careers including Nursing, Social Work, Youth & Community
Work, Probation and Allied Health Professions.

Entry requirements

Students wishing to study the Extended Certificate or Diploma would be required to meet the general entry requirements of achieving 4 x Grade 9-4 or equivalent at GCSE alongside a Grade 4 or above in English and/or Mathematics. Students with either English and/or Mathematics at Grade 3 or below
will have individual meetings to determine the most suitable pathway within the Sixth Form.

Course description

The course comprises of numerous units covering a wide aspect of Health & Social Care. You can either do the Extended Certificate (equivalent to one A Level) or the National Diploma (equivalent to two A Levels).

For both routes, common units include:

  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Working in Health and Social Care
  • Enquiries into Health and Social Care
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care
  • Promoting Public Health
  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Physiological Disorders and their Care

Ways to help my child succeed

Coursework and exams can be challenging and stressful. In order to assist your child talk to them, proof read their work, assist with revision strategies and encourage them to present/execute their work to the highest standards.

Exam board

Pearson BTEC Level 3 Nationals in Health and Social Care


360 GLH – Equivalent in size to one A Level. Mandatory content (83%) and External assessment (58%).

Extended Certificate
This is worth 1 A-Level and students will study 4 units over 2 years.

This is worth 2 A-Levels and students will study 8 units over 2 years.

Extended Diploma
This is worth 3 A Levels and students will study 13 units over 2 years including a compulsory work experience unit, with 3 weeks in a workplace setting.