Curriculum Sequencing and Assessment

Sequencing of skills and knowledge

Curriculum sequencing at a whole school level ensures that all subjects across Key Stages includes a broad and balanced curriculum including the coverage and extension beyond the national curriculum, religious education and personal development.

At a subject level the National curriculum is used as a starting point for the creation of programmes of study however, we believe it is key to extend the students learning experience beyond this.

The development of key subject specific skills across the Key Stages is central to the outstanding student achievement at Archbishop Holgate’s school.

Click on each subject below to take a look at the subject mapping document which illustrates how the key skills are sequenced and mapped across the Key Stages.

Art and Design

Business Studies

Computing and IT

Design and Technology




Food Technology


Health and Social Care


Modern Foreign Languages


Media Studies


Religious Education

Physical Education

Core PE



Travel and Tourism


There is a whole school focus on memory and retention in which the key principles from the work of Willingham and Rosenshine underpinning teaching and revision approaches are embedded into the curriculum.

Alongside the use of formal subject assessments to test students’ knowledge retention and understanding within each programme of study there are whole school assessment weeks that are mapped into the assessment calendar for each year group.

In the lead up to the formal assessment weeks your child will be supported through a study skills programme and formal revision period. The study skills programme is bespoke to each year group and builds on the work covered in previous years.

Click below to access a sample of the materials that subject teachers, form tutors and Heads of Year will use to support your child.

Example booklets from 2018-19

Revision booklet Year 7

Revision booklet Year 8

Revision booklet Year 9